By election result (Birchills/Leamore)
Service information

By election result (Birchills/Leamore)

Date Published : 28 November 2008

Conservative candidate Kamran Aftab has won the Birchills-Leamore by-election held last night at Walsall Town Hall with 764 votes.

The position became vacant following the resignation of Labour councillor Jonathan Phillips last month.

Labour candidate Richard Worrall claimed 661 votes; Malcolm Moore of the British National Party, 90 votes; Christine Cockayne of the Liberal Democrats, 72 votes; Alan Davies of Democratic Labour Party, 69 votes; Elizabeth Hazell of the UK Independence Party, 52 votes and Paul Booker of the Green Party 34 votes.

Mr Aftab joins current Labour ward members, councillors Joan Barton and Tim Oliver.

Leader of the Council, councillor John O’Hare said: “This is a significant step forward for the Conservative party, making ground in a traditionally Labour stronghold.

“I thank Mr Aftab for the hard work he has done to achieve this result and every confidence that he will make a major contribution to the Conservative team.”

The voter turnout was 19.6%. The Returning Officer for Walsall Council was Paul Sheehan, Chief Executive.